Plastic bags


OK they are terrible things and we should all stop using them. TBH I do feel bad whenever I do forget and I think about the marvellous “Green” family over at my zero waste and what remarkable things they do and I cannot even go without plastic bags.

Thing is I like plastic bags, and the reusable kind just don’t seem to come in the different sizes I want (they probably do and am sure someone could link me to them somewhere). I use them for lots of different things – such as putting drinks bottles in incase they leak, swimming kit bags and most importantly they are used as bin bags – so I don’t want to pay for a reusable to throw away. The biodegradable ones tend to biodegrade too quickly for me too.

But this is not why I decided to write this post. As I have previously mentioned Wales will charge 5p per bag from 1st October – and that would be fine with me, I would prefer that than the disapproving looks for using 2 non-reusable bags for a shop for a family of 6. But the thing that REALLY annoys me is that when I get home there’s at least 3 charity plastic bags pushed through my door – that I don’t want (and they are not the right size for me) and 9 times out of 10 the charity does not come back for them!

What’s your opinion on plastic bags? Would you prefer to pay for them? Or are you fully converted into reusable bags. Do you have any tips for me weaning myself off them?

4 thoughts on “Plastic bags

  1. Hiya hunni, I use them charity begging bags for bin bags. Or when I clean out the bunny hutch. Or I put them in the bag holder under the sink and will get recycled with normal carrier bags later that month.

  2. Pingback: What a load of Rubbish! « Pinkoddy's Blog

  3. Pingback: Go Green Giveaway event 5-11th October « Pinkoddy's Blog

  4. Pingback: Reasons I love Composting « Pinkoddy's Blog

Pinkoddy Thanks You For Your Comment